A Letter In the Mail Part 2

Our journey in foster care began several years ago with a letter in the mail. This week, it ended in the same way. As I unlocked the mailbox at the central mail facility in our neighborhood, I saw the big brown envelope. Reading the return addess “Clerk of Superior Court” sealed my knowledge of its contents. Knowing my wife would be home shortly, I sped the car up the alley (probably not wise), and rushed through the house to meet her on the front porch, holding the papers high in the air.

We had, in hand, the official adoption decree from the court.

Thus closed the case on foster care. We were free from social workers, court officials, guardians and the like. One journey closed and another began.

And so too, must this blog. You probably have guessed by the lack of postings over the past several months. It was never intentional, it’s life. The shape of our lives has changed from this blog. It’s been changing the past few months and while I have no plans to pull this blog from public view, it’s time to end additional postings.

However, I do feel the Lord’s calling to continue blogging. So, come and see the next chapter of our journey: Parenting Traumatized Children. I hope to see you there.

About Andrew Sawyer

I'm a foster-adoptive dad that is raising two incredibly awesome boys with my super-talented wife and trusty beagle while trusting God to provide the strength and knowledge for each step of the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

