The Snow Grinch Melts

I live in the South ya’ll, in case you hadn’t picked up on that. We don’t see alot of snow around these parts. And, when we do, it’s usually the nasty wintry mix variety or ice. Ugh. Ice is horrible. Today, we got snow. As in fluffy, wet real snow. True to the South, it didn’t stick around long, nor was there much of it, but it did make for a pretty awesome day.

My wife and Older One working on our mini-snowman. Little Guy successfully destroyed him later.

My wife and Older One working on our mini-snowman. Little Guy successfully destroyed him later.

Before I continue, the part that made this day incredible was my job. I work in public affairs for a local government agency that has a transportation responsiblity. In fact for the majority of my 10 years in this field, I’ve worked with transportation agencies. Which means, when they call for snow. I get busy. Though, I do get to (largely) work from home during winter weather, which there’s something to be said for that.

About three years ago, we had a pretty hefty snow/ice/whatever fall. In a little more than 48 hours, I clocked in 90 media interviews. Local, statewide and national TV call-ins. I didn’t sleep for more than a few minutes here or there that weekend.. oh and it was Christmas. Needless to say, I HATE snow. I’d go so far as to say i’m a snow grinch.

Today though, for the first time in my career, it snowed and I only had one interview all day long. And, it lasted all of 30 seconds!!! So, needless to say, I was excited to go out with the boys and my wife and actually enjoy the snow.  We layered up and suited up and headed out in to the two-inch blizzard and ventured to a nearby park and had a blast.

Snowballs, snow angels, rolling down the hills (actually that was the boys), making a mini-snowman, picture taking and just running around having a great time. All four of us. I can’t express how exciting that was, because I know it’ll be rare. As long as I’m in this field, working for the agency that I do, I’ll be working in the snow.

But today, I enjoyed it. And afterwards, coming in to a pot of my wife’s incredible homemade broccoli and cheese soup. MMM. Perfect day.

So, I guess you can say, the snow grinch melted… just a bit.

About Andrew Sawyer

I'm a foster-adoptive dad that is raising two incredibly awesome boys with my super-talented wife and trusty beagle while trusting God to provide the strength and knowledge for each step of the way.
This entry was posted in Family, Lite Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

